港口与影像

关于“港口与影像”计划

“港口与影像”计划由视觉艺术研究者、策展人何伊宁与中国港口博物馆于2016年共同发起,其初衷是通过委任艺术家展开摄影和相关媒介的实践,来探索全球经济一体化背景下中国港口地区发展的现实环境,以及港城空间关系下衍生出的不同议题。截至2022年,“港口与影像”计划共先后委任21位艺术家就中国和日本共20个港城和口岸(区域)进行创作,在中国港口博物馆每两年的展览和出版计划之外,该计划在过去6年内借助广泛的媒体人和相关研究机构的回应和讨论,一方面持续关注与港口相关的文化和创作实践,另一方面不断反思和拓展委任的方向和逻辑。

关于中国港口博物馆

中国港口博物馆由国务院批准命名,位于浙江省宁波市北仑区春晓滨海新城,建成于2014年,是国家二级博物馆和国家3A级景区。中国港口博物馆以港口文化为主题,集教育、展示、收藏、科研、旅游、国际交流等功能于一体,具有国际性、专业性和互动性,是我国规模最大、等级最高的港口专题博物馆。中国港口博物馆是研究港口历史 , 传承港口文化、传播海洋文明的重要基地,是新世纪海上丝绸之路的重要文化支点。

丛书主编介绍

何伊宁(b.1986)是一位视觉艺术研究者、策展人。她的专著、编著以及参与撰写的合集包括《记忆寓所》《世界女性摄影史》《劳特利奇摄影与视觉研究导论》《英国摄影教室》及《港口与影像》系列等;译著有《摄影与旅行》《艺术与摄影》(待出版)、《做书的艺术家》(待出版)等数十种。中英文论文先后发表于Photographies, Photography and Culture, OVER Journal, 《现代美术学报》《新美术馆学》等同行评议期刊;其他百余篇文字曾先后发表于国内外艺术、摄影、视觉文化杂志与网络平台,包括FOAM Magazine, Aperture Photobook Review, IMA, ArtForum中文网,《艺术世界》《画刊》《中国摄影》等等。

在策展方面,何伊宁擅长挖掘当下全球具有挑战性的视觉艺术实践,并将其编织在政治与文化的双重视野下。她曾在中国和欧洲策划过大型的主题展览,包括“图汇未来”、“想像中国”、“在群山、丘陵与湖泊之间”、“记忆寓所”、“港口与影像”、“混合的公共性与私密性”与“虚构叙事的转向”等。她是OCAT研究中心第一届”2018研究型展览策展计划”的优胜者,并凭借该研究项目的终展”记忆寓所”获得第十四届AAC艺术中国年度策展人提名奖。

何伊宁毕业于英国伦敦艺术大学伦敦传媒学院,她即将于2022年9月加入英国伯明翰城市大学艺术与设计学院中国视觉艺术中心(CCVA),其博士研究围绕2000后中国当代艺术实践中的去殖民性(decoloniality)所展开,考察艺术家个人经验、全球地缘政治互动与解殖艺术话语之间的联系。

港口与影像:行动中的中国港城影像计划

艺术家:陈文俊 & 江演媚、黄臻伟、李超瑜、徐浩、杨圆圆、郑川与朱岚清

主编:何伊宁

– 作者:中国港口博物馆
– 责编:金嵘
– 出版:上海世纪出版集团,上海文化出版社

“港口与影像”计划发起于2016年中国地缘战略转移的重要时间点,其策划初衷是通过委任艺术家展开摄影和相关媒介的实践,来探索全球经济一体化背景下中国港口地区发展的现实环境,以及港城空间关系下衍生出的不同议题。在第一期以“行动中的中国港城影像计划”(2017)为名的委任创作、展览和出版中,我们选取了7座重要港口城市(宁波、泉州、广州、南京、上海、香港、大连)作为切入点,共邀请8位艺术家——陈文俊 & 江演媚、黄臻伟、李超瑜、徐浩、杨圆圆、郑川与朱岚清,分别探讨上述港口的现代性与历史传统在建筑、空间、 生态环境以及社会和文化方面的关系, 并尝试讨论现代性的港口城市与传统交接中所表现出的地域特点,或是与历史或现代语境相关的话题。

本书获得第二届中国摄影图书榜“年度摄影集”。

港口与影像 II——消失的码头: 在时空与记忆之间

艺术家:陈旻、何博、藤井良雄、木格、石真、唐小松、吴鼎

主编:何伊宁

– 作者:中国港口博物馆
– 责编:江泉,张宇
– 出版:中国民族文化出版社

“港口与影像II”选择将消失的码头作为隐喻,试图从艺术家的创作出发,在探索港口的现代性与历史传统在建筑、空间、生态环境以及社会和文化方面的关系的同时,考察逐渐消失或即将消失,以及新生的港口文化对于个体和集体所产生的影响,并试图在历史和当代的语境中重新认识那些被遗忘的故事。

“港口与影像“第二期项目共邀请共七位来自中国和日本视觉艺术实践者,这些创作分别围绕着一个胶东半岛家族数代人与青岛的情感关联;宜昌及其相关的精神文化在中国社会、政治、文化的关系;重庆朝天门码头环境空间与人之间的关系;天津作为一个深受码头文化影响的港口城市,其休闲娱乐的变迁;福州马尾港的在地文化与个体经验之间的冲撞;针对日本横滨港历史事件的视觉化讲述;以及上海洋山港智能化码头与模块化世界之间的联想所展开。本届展览将呈现六位中国艺术家的作品。

港口与影像III:口岸的回响

艺术家:陈荣辉、王翰林、孙海霆、宋天琪、程新皓、刘雨佳

主编:何伊宁

– 作者:中国港口博物馆
– 责编:江泉,张宇
– 出版:中国民族文化出版社

“港口与影像”第三期项目以“口岸的回响”为主题,从艺术家委任实践出发,借助展览与出版的策划,思考“口岸”作为地理、交通和文化生产的空间,在中国近现代百年历史中的变迁。本期项目邀请了6位活跃在影像创作领域的青年艺术家——陈荣辉、王翰林、孙海霆、宋天琪、程新皓和刘雨佳——分别围绕海南自由贸易港、山东港口、丹东、哈尔滨、昆明和昆仑山/边疆宾馆的不同议题展开视觉化的探索。

本期展览和出版的逻辑围绕口岸城市(区域)在历史和当下的对话,以相隔百年的两个时间和空间框架所展开:一是19世纪末20世纪初,在中国面对以英国为代表的帝国主义列强的殖民扩张之时,通商口岸作为近代中国条约体系塑形之下的产物,成为中国近代交通基础设施网络的节点,并与更广泛半殖民半封建社会结构、航运和铁路系统扩张和民族主义产生联系;二是21世纪初的当下,在诸如“一带一路”协议,“自贸港”协议等地缘政策的制定下,口岸城市(区域)作为新一轮交通基础设施的核心,通过更新经济和地域文化,将地区、国家和全球贸易连接在一起。

X
X

The Port and the Image

About “The Port and the Image” Project

“The Port and the Image” Project was launched by curator He Yining and China Port Museum in 2016. The goal of this project is to explore the current situation of China’s port cities, and the issues that have arisen during their development in an increasingly integrated global economy, by appointing artists to conduct media practice like photography. By the end of 2022, the project has commissioned 21 artists and paired them up with 20 port cities and ports (regions) in China and Japan. Apart from China Port Museum’s original plan of holding exhibition every two years and publication programme, the project has drawn on the extensive response and discussion from the media and relevant research institutions over the past six years, continuing to focus on port-related cultural and creative practices while reflecting on and branching out the direction and logic of the commission.

About China Port Museum

The China Port Museum is sanctioned by the State Council. It was founded in 2014 in Chunxiao Binhai New Town, Beilun District, Ningbo, Zhejiang. It is classified as a second-grade national museum and an AAA tourist attraction. With a focus on port culture, the museum integrates exhibitions, education, collections, research, tourism, international exchanges, and other functions. Embodying internationalism, professionalism and interactivity, this largest and highest-ranked of China’s port themed museums has become not only a cultural base for telling port history and culture and oceanic civilization, but also a cultural fulcrum of the Maritime Silk Road in the new century.

About the Series Curator:

He Yining (b.1986), is a curator and researcher of photographic art and visual culture. On an academic level, She has written, edited, and participated in numerous books, including The Abode of Anamnesis, Une Historie Mondiale des Femmes Photographies, The Routledge Companion to Photography and Visual Culture, The Port and the Image, and Photography in the British Classroom, among others. She has been the translator for more than ten books like Photography and Travel, Art and Photography (forthcoming), Artists who Make Books (forthcoming) and so on. Her Chinese and English papers have been published in peer-reviewed journals like Photographies, Photography & Culture, OVER Journal, Journal of Taipei Fine Arts Museum, and New Art Museum Studies. Meanwhile,  has published more than 100 articles in art, photography, and visual culture magazines and online platforms in China and internationally, including FOAM Magazine, Aperture Photobook Review, IMA, ArtForum, Art World, Art Monthly, China Photography Magazine, etc.

In terms of curatorial practices, He Yining specializes in uncovering contemporary photographic practices and weaving them within a dual vision of politics and visual culture. She has curated exhibitions in China and Europe, including “Imaging Our Futures”, “China Imagined”, “Between Mountains, Hills and Lakes”, “The Abode of Anamnesis”, “The Port and The Image”, “Troubled Intentions Ahead: Confusing Public and Private”, and “A Fictional Narrative Turn”. She was the winner of the OCAT Institute’s inaugural “Research-based Curatorial Project” and was nominated for the 14th AAC Art China “Curator of the Year Award” for her research project exhibition “The Abode of Anamnesis”.

He Yining is a graduate of London College of Communication, University of the Arts London. She will join the Centre for Chinese Visual Arts (CCVA) at Birmingham City University’s School of Art and Design in September 2022, where her doctoral research is centered on the decoloniality of Chinese contemporary art practice in the post-2000s period, examining the links between individual artists’ experiences, global geopolitical interactions and decolonial art discourse.

The Port and the Image I: Documenting China's Harbor Cities

Artist: Chen Wenjun & Jiang Yanmei, Huang Zhenwei, Li Chaoyu, Xu Hao, Yang Yuanyuan, Zheng Chuan and Zhu Lanqing

Curator: He Yining

– Author: China Port Museum
– Editor: Jin Rong
– Publisher: Shanghai Century Publishing (Group) Co, Ltd, Shanghai Culture Publishing House

Launched in 2016 at an important moment of China’s geostrategic shift, “The Port and the Image” Project was conceived to explore the realities of the development of China’s port cities under the global economic integration, as well as the different issues arising from the spatial relations of port cities, by means of appointing artists to develop their practice of photography and related media.

In the first phase of the commissioned creation, exhibition and publication under the title “Documenting China’s Harbor Cities” (2017), we picked seven major cities (Ningbo, Quanzhou, Guangzhou, Nanjing, Shanghai, Hongkong) and paired up with eight photographers (Chen Wenjun & Jiang Yanmei, Huang Zhenwei, Li Chaoyu, Xu Hao, Yang Yuanyuan, Zheng Chuan and Zhu Lanqing) to explore: how their architecture has embraced both modernity and tradition; how urban space, the environment, society, and culture relate to one another within them; how a modern port city can be a unique vessel of history and tradition; and how the past and the present interact with one another in a contemporary context.

The book has won the “Photobook of the Year” in the second Chinese Photobook List.

The Port and the Image II: The Disappearing Harbor: Between Time, Space and Memory

Artist: Chen Min, He Bo, Yoshikatsu Fujii, Mu Ge, Shi Zhen, Tang Xiaosong, Wu Ding

Curator: He Yining

– Author: China Port Museum
– Editor: Jiang Quan, Zhang Yu
– Publisher: China Nationality Culture Press Co., Ltd

Started from the creation of artists, “The Port and the Image II” uses the “Disappearing Harbor” as a metaphor to explore the relationship between modernity and the traditional heritage of the port on its architectural, spatial, ecological, social and cultural aspects, to investigate the disappeared, disappearing or nascent port cultures and their impact on individuals or communities, while seeking to reconnect the forgotten stories in historical and contemporary contexts.

The second phase of “The Port and the Image” invited seven visual arts practitioners from China and Japan. The works are about the emotional connection between Qingdao and a family from the Jiaodong Peninsula over several generations; the relationship between Yichang spirit and the Chinese society, politics, and culture; the relationship between the environment and local residents at Chongqing’s Chaotianmen Dock; the evolution of the entertainment industry in Tianjin, a port city deeply influenced by harbor culture; the clash between local culture and personal experience at Fuzhou’s Mawei Port; visual narratives of historical events that took place at the Port of Yokohama in Japan; the associations between the intelligent harbor of Shanghai’s Yangshan Port and a modularized world. The exhibition will present the works of six Chinese artists.

The Port and the Image III: Echoes of the Ports

Artist: Chen Ronghui, Wang Hanlin, Sun Haiting, Song Tianqi, Cheng Xinhao, Liu Yujia

Curator: He Yining

– Author: China Port Museum
– Editor: Jiang Quan, Zhang Yu
– Publisher: China Nationality Culture Press Co., Ltd

“The Port and the Image III: Echoes of the Ports” will commission artists and use exhibitions and publications to explore ports as the space for geography, transportation and cultural production, and their transitions in the modern history of China. The third phase of this project has invited 6 young artists who are active in image creation, including Chen Ronghui, Wang Hanlin, Sun Haiting, Song Tianqi, Cheng Xinhao and Liu Yujia. Each of them will be paired up with a topic to work on, like Hainan Free Trade Port, Shandong Port, Dandong, Harbin, Kunming, Kunlun Mountains/Bianjing Hotel.

The logic of exhibition and publication in this phase is about the dialogue of port cities (regions) between the past and the present, under two frameworks of time and space hundred years apart from each other. First, in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, when China faced the colonial expansion of imperialist powers represented by the UK, shipping ports, as the product of modern China’s treaty system, have become points of modern China’s transportation infrastructure network. And it was related to the more extensive semi-colonial and semi-feudal social structure, the expansion of shipping and railway system, and nationalism. Second, at the beginning of the 21st century, under the formulation of geopolitical policies like Belt and Road Initiative and Free Trade Port Agreements, port cities (regions), as the core of a new round of transportation infrastructure, have brought regional, national and global trade together by economic and regional culture renewal.

X
X