We are delighted to share the ten international artists who have been shortlisted for the 2024 Saltzman Prize, presented in cooperation with CPW / PHOTOFAIRS New York

The Saltzman Prize recognizes extraordinary achievement by an emerging photographer, one whose work has recently gained wider visibility and whose voice adds new perspectives to the critical discussion around photography and visual culture. The recipient of the Saltzman Prize will receive a $10,000 award, the 2024 CPW Vision Award for Emerging Photographer, and a solo exhibition of their work at the second edition of PHOTOFAIRS New York at the Javits Center, September 6-8, 2024.

Contemplation I, 2020 © Hady Barry

The ten shortlisted artists are: Hady Barry, Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire; Eric Gyamfi, Accra, Ghana; Patrice Aphrodite Helmar, Juneau, AK / New York, NY; Nhu Xuan Huay, Paris, France; Hailun Ma, Shanghai. China / New York, NY; Rory Mulligan, Hastings-on-Hudson, NY; Trina Michelle Robinson, San Francisco, CA; Keisha Scarville, Brooklyn, NY; Caroline Tompkins, New York, NY; and Wilfred Ukpong, Oxford, UK / Clermont-Ferrand, France / Eket, Nigeria.

Aspen, 2019 © Caroline Tompkins

This shortlist was compiled by the following nominators: Jacqueline Bates, Photography Director, New York Times Opinion; Deana Lawson, artist and educator; Oluremi C. Onabanjo, The Peter Schub Curator of Photography, The Museum of Modern Art, New York; Lyle Rexer, writer, critic, and curator; and Mark Sealy, Director, Autograph, London.

From Neighborhood, 2023 © Hailun Ma

The Saltzman Prize was created by Lisa Saltzman on behalf of the Saltzman Family Foundation in collaboration with The Center for Photography at Woodstock and PHOTOFAIRS New York. Lisa Saltzman created the Saltzman Prize for Emerging Photographers at the Center of Photography at Woodstock in honor of her parents, Ralph and Muriel Saltzman, who were passionate art collectors, art patrons, and philanthropists.

Archive from the year 72’, from Tropism, Consequences of a Displaced Memory (2016-2021) © Nhu Xuan Hua

The recipient of the 2024 Saltzman Prize will be determined by a jury consisting of Dr. Deborah Willis, University Professor and Chair of the Department of Photography & Imaging at the Tisch School of the Arts at New York University; Susan Meiselas, photographer and President of the Magnum Foundation; and Yasufumi Nakamori, Director, Asia Society Museum, New York.

An announcement of the Saltzman Prize honoree will be made on March 11, 2024.